Maintaining Certification






Learn more about the MOCA program

Our goal is to promote lifelong learning, encourage patient safety and improve public health through our Maintenance of Certification in Anesthesiology™ (MOCA®) program. We redesigned the program using diplomate feedback to provide more opportunities to continuously learn and assess knowledge in an interactive way.

The main components of the program include:

  • Maintaining active and unrestricted medical licensure
  • Completing 250 credits of Category 1 CME activities (including 20 patient safety)
  • Answering 120 MOCA Minute questions every year and meeting the performance standard
  • Collecting 50 points of Quality Improvement (QI) activities during your 10-year MOCA cycle (25 points in years 1-5 and 25 points in years 6-10)

  • View the full details of the MOCA program on the MOCA home page.


Keep Your Medical License Updated

All diplomates must maintain an active medical license. Your medical license should be in an active, unrestricted status to practice medicine in at least one jurisdiction of the U.S. or Canada. Advise us of restrictions placed on your medical license(s) and provide complete information about restrictions within 60 days of their imposition.

We are piloting a system to automatically update your medical license status for you. If your license status is incorrect in your portal account, please contact us for assistance. Learn More.

What You Need to Know


Complete CME Activities

We ask that you earn 250 Category 1 CME credits during your MOCA cycle, at least 20 of which should be ABA-approved Patient Safety CME. We worked with the ACCME to create the CME Explorer, our online catalog of Category 1 CMEs. Here you can easily find CME activities (including patient safety) that are relevant to your practice. Learn more about CME activities for MOCA.

What you Need to Know

  • All credits should be Category 1 CME activities:
      - ACCME/AMA PRA-approved
      - American Osteopathic Association Category 1-A
      - Accredited CPD credits issued by the Royal College of Physicians of Canada
         and the Association of Faculties of Medicine of Canada

  • 20 of your credits must be Category 1 Patient Safety CME

Maintain Your Knowledge with MOCA Minute

MOCA Minute® is an interactive, web-based learning tool that replaces the MOCA Exam and consists of multiple-choice questions. It allows you to continuously assess your knowledge, fill knowledge gaps and demonstrate your proficiency. Learn more about MOCA Minute.

What You Need to Know

  • Access questions via weekly email reminders, your portal account or the mobile app
  • We use Measurement Decision Theory (MDT) to calculate your performance, which is based on each question’s difficulty and your pattern of responses
  • Answer 120 questions each year by 11:59 p.m. EST on Dec. 31 and maintain an MDT p-value of ≥ 0.10

Participate in Quality Improvement (QI)

The goal of the Quality Improvement (QI) component is to demonstrate that you are participating in evaluations of your clinical practice and are engaging in practice improvement activities. Submit 25 points during Years 1-5 and another 25 points during Years 6-10 for a total of 50 points in your 10-year MOCA cycle. Learn more about QI activities.

What you Need to Know

  • Attest to completing 25 QI points during Years 1-5 in your portal account.
  • Attest to completing 25 QI points during Years 6-10 in your portal account.
  • Attest to your clinical activity and ongoing program of practice assessment and performance improvement in Year 9.


Contact our COMS team to get your certification and MOCA questions answered.